February 28, 2010
-
On Second Thought, Maybe I'm the Moron
Yes, maybe I am. Earlier today I gently insisted on going out and toddering around on my snowshoes. This required help from husband because I currently have trouble staying bent over long enough to adjust the straps on my bear claws. I also wanted him for stand by. LoraBoraLabraDora was to accompany us, as I wanted her to be out with us and to learn not to trod on the tails of my shoes. The last time I went out on my snowshoes, about two years ago, maybe last year? I ended up face down in the snow bank because she was walking on the tails of my shoes. My feet just stopped moving. My moment, however, did not cease. I pitched forward and ended up face down at the base of the apple tree and I could not right myself. I'm not sure how long I endured that face plant, but it was long enough that Spike went out in the road and was trying, in his innate doggy way, to flag down help for me. Erik eventually came home to find me yelling into the snow. Very effective. He helped me up and out. I did not want a repeat of that today, especially since Spike is no longer here to protect me from myself.
It was sunny. The sky was blue. The snow was very crusty, having been rained upon after the twenty or so inches was fluffed down upon us. It wasn't slippery at all, and bore me well. I did use two ski poles to help me support myself. I breathed in fresh, crisp air. Erik was watchful, but I know for him it is difficult when I go out and about. He thinks I should be walking and building my strength up. It's a little two conservative for me. I miss my cross country skis. Not really up for kick and glide at this time.
When I came inside, I started having spasms in my glutes. But a little Advil, a little rest, and the spasms were calmed and I felt pretty good. Then I started working on dinner. Brown Sugar and Beer Braised Beef was on the menu. At one point I pivoted between the counter and the stove and BAM! I was back to hurtin' unit. Which distresses my husband. So maybe I'm the moron for doing things a little less carefully. I will stop short of saying that Maybe I'm the moron because I got to this point. But I won't say that. See how I worked it into the conversation anyway?
So nowI'm blogging and wishing for a good game of something with someone. I've read some blogs, hung out on Face book, friended a few folks that I haven't seen in a while. I don't want to admit that the weekend is drawing to a close and that it's time for bed.
Blessings abound
Comments (3)
Hope you feel no pain tomorrow!!
Maybe you'll be good as new tomorrow... I, too, do not want to admit the weekend is over. That is why I am on the computer instead of tucked into bed.
Well, that, and I watched Mr. Brooks for the first time and am now too creeped out to sleep. I also had ice cream for dinner, which wasn't very filling, so now I am a bit hungry. I guess I'll snack on some cheese and head to bed.
Have a wonderful week, my dear friend!
Nope not a moron, just used (as are we all over our lifetime) to being able to continue doing the things we have always done. We shouldn't have to relearn how to do things or to think about how we are doing them. Age isn't for the faint hearted. Hugs.
Will also look for you one facebook.
Comments are closed.