August 14, 2013

  • Whirlwind

     The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of activity: at least compared to how I have been in the last few years. 

    Work has been busy with docs on vacation, an increase in the need to do prior authorizations – I have a few choice obscene words for the state of insurance and health care in this country, but I will spare you. And a quick trip to Oneonta,New York to help a friend in need. It’s a four hour drive from here. My friend drove and I enjoyed the scenery. Because we had to leave after I was done work an hour later than I normally would be, we stopped at a Mobil of gas around nine thirty at night. My friend gassed up the car and then announced she was going inside to find a restroom and purchase snacks. After a few minutes of sitting in the car, I decided a rest room sounded like a very good idea. I walked away from the car and realized in about five feet I had forgotten my cane. Back to the car, cane retrieved from the back seat. I got about five feet away from the car before I realized I had seen the keys in the ignition. I realized I couldn’t leave the car alone with the keys in the ignition because someone might steal the car. A small chance, but a chance nonetheless. I stood by the car for about five minutes, the need to urinate growing stronger. I was so fuzzy headed I could not figure out how to leave the car safely at the pump at this not very busy station. After a few more minutes passed, a light bulb went on: I could take the keys out of the ignition! With a mental head slap and feeling sheepish, I plucked the keys from the ignition and hobbled into the store. I gave the keys to my friend and we had a very good laugh over my brain fog. Throughout the rest of the trip we would say,” of course, you can take the keys out of the ignition!” and crack ourselves up! We spent a day visiting with my friend, cleaning her home and preparing nourishing food for her to eat during the week. As a treat I made my grandmother’s Hot Milk Cake with fresh blueberries thrown into the batter. The blueberries floated on the top of the cake. It was beautiful when it came out of the oven. 

    Today I am resting and taking it easy. There is a cool,damp breeze kissing me on the cheek from the open window. My coffee is hot and good. Lorabora is resting in the chair, lying on her back,legs up in the air. It is good to take the time to write. I’m glad Xanga is getting a reprise and a shot at continuing. 

    Blessings abound. And you can always take the keys out of the ignition!

     

Comments (1)

  • I think you have been a good observer about the keys and you had the wisdom to take a time of reflection before action. Is not that good ? I loved your description of the situation.
    But I did not know you needed to use a cane .
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *