January 16, 2013

  • Visiting The Lyme Whisperer

      Today was a follow-up appointment with The Lyme Whisperer.  Without disclosing all the details, I reached a point in treatment where the co-infection of yeast overgrew from having to add an antibiotic to protect my knees while I had dental work. The antibiotic left me with a nasty vaginal yeast infection.   So yeast medication was added and a compounded Nystatin was started to replace the suspect Nystatin manufactured by Teva.   The upshot was that the vaginal candidiasis resolved from these changes and from using miconazole vaginally and I became burdened by the worst constipation I have ever experienced in my life. Constipation so bad I had to give myself an enema on the bathroom floor and hope my husband didn't hear.  He didn't .  So bad that even with the addition of Senna, I had to manually disimpact myself in the bathroom at work because I was sitting on a giant ball of-well, you get the idea.   I have delivered children only slightly larger than these MegaPoops in a shorter amount of time. 

    The introduction of constipation into the picture means that I am continuing to have a problem with yeast and the culprit found and eliminated. So for now, in addition to the usual dietary restrictions, I am not allowed cheese and milk. I am to increase my vegetable intake which has slackened due to the season and the lack of appealing fresh salad greens.  I also found out that by grinding the Ezekiel tortillas in the food processor and making them into muffins I am making carbohydrate more available to the yeast. So even though I was working within the constraints of the diet to reduce problems with yeast, I was creating an additional source of nourishment for the dratted yeast. 

       To add insult to injury, the kelp noodles I discovered that seem to fit in the diet are on hold for consumption until the constipation and herxe are resolved.   To say the least I am extremely disappointed.   At least I have the distinction of being the only patient the Lyme Whisperer has treated who has ever pulverized the tortillas in order to make muffins. It made him laugh and made me smile to think I was clever in my innovations.

    Blessings abound

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment